This Saturday Regular Show (All Divisions Racing) Plus the  always exciting, super fast ATQMRA Season Opener . . .  You 'Gotta Do Mahoning!






April 19 @6:00 pm All regular track classes + season opener for ATQMRA

April 26 @6:00 pm All regular track classes

May 3 @6:00 pm Modifieds 100 laps/$3G-to-win + all regular track classes + Micro Stocks


Defending Champ Eric Beers Doesnít Miss A BeatÖ

Wins Mahoning Valley Speedway Modified Opener 100-lapper



  (LEHIGHTON, PA 4-12-14) When Eric Beers climbed from his race car after winning the Opening Night 100-lap feature at Mahoning Valley Speedway, the defending track champion explained how out of shape he felt from the grind of the century run. His performance, however, showed otherwise.

  Without missing a beat from his record setting season of a year ago, Beers took the lead from Austin Kochenash on lap 36 then set sail in claiming his 10th win in a Mahoning extra distance event. The victory was worth a cool $4000, the largest amount ever awarded for a 100-lapper.

  "I am really spent after that one," said Beers while in Victory Lane. "I realize now how out of shape I am but wow what a way to start off the season. My hatís off to Floyd Santee (promoter) who did an awesome job putting this night together. We have a full house of fans and a super field of cars."

  After a straight-up start from the heat finishes Beers started sixth and needed just three laps to make his way into the top five.

  Pole sitter Rick Kirkendall jumped into the early lead with Matt Hirschman and Kochenash running a close second and third respectively. Next in line came Roger Coss. Through the beginning laps Kirkendall was holding off repeated attempts by Hirschman and Kochenash. But, a game changer took place while under a lap 14 caution. Scott Meckes brought out the yellow when he dumped liquid in turn three. During the extended cleanup Hirschman had to pit for a right front flat. A few moments later Kirkendall when off after overheating. That allowed Kochenash to advance to first place with Beers second. When the race resumed Kochenash was firm and looking to repeat his Opening Night win from a year ago. Beers, though, had other thoughts as by lap 20 he went to the high side and began a torrid side-by-side battle for the lead.

  Kochenash was holding his line and made Beers work hard on every lap they raced together. Beers even backed off a time or two in order to refocus his route of attack but it was soon evident that if he was going to complete the pass it had to come from the outside lane. He again took to the high road and this time used a surge of momentum to leap by and take the lead as 36 laps went into the books. "Austin (Kochenash) is always tough to pass especially at this place. We ran clean and Iím sure the fans got a thrill from how close we were. It was just good hard racing which is what you get here. This is why we donít run the (NASCAR) Whelen Modified Tour anymore, we love being back here at Mahoning," said Beers, who won for the 37th time at Mahoning.

  Once in the lead there would be no stopping him. That included a late caution with eight laps to go. Kochenash knew that would be perhaps his last chance at Beers on the restart but it was to no avail as the champ showed no signs off backing off and went on to score the win. "Second was good tonight especially when you look at all the cars here and the competition," said Kochenash. "We just didnít have the car to run with Eric (Beers). He drove a great race. That last restart was a chance to get him but I had used up a lot on the previous restart." Third spot went to Nevin George who came on strong near the end and dueled with Hirschman until the final laps to secure the position. Coss completed the top five.

  The 50-lap Late Model race became a championís duel as two-time and defending champ Earl Paules and three-time champion Paul Koehler, Jr., faced off. Back and forth they ran over the early going but once past the midway juncture Paules proved the better of the two and went on to win the $1200 first place prize offering and his 22nd Late Model win. Frankie Althouse, Mike Sweeney and Geno Steigerwalt all ran within reach of the top two and gave notice to what looks to be a highly competitive field this season.

  The Street Stocks had 28 cars signed in which made for some intense action in attempting to gain a spot on the starting grid for the 50 lap feature. When all was said in done it was Mahoningís all-time wins leader, Todd Ahner who bested everyone as he started from the pole and then led every lap en route to his 29th win. In typical Mahoning Street Stock style there was side-by-side action throughout the race. Justin Mooney was right on Ahnerís bumper when they crossed the finish line while TJ Gursky and Jillian Long provided plenty of dueling action in garnering third and fourth at the conclusion.

  The 40-lap Dirt Mod event went to Kris Graver who was driving a car prepared by class regular Ricky Yetter. The 2013 Modified division Rookie of the Year jumped into the Yetter mount and showed why he is a past Dirt Mod champion. Running very smooth and fast laps, he zipped underneath his uncle, Kevin Graver, Jr., on lap 17 and never looked back as he cruised to a solid three car length margin of victory. Yetter settled for third with Mike Stofflet and reigning champ Jeff Parker rounding out the top five.

  Jake Kibler scored his second straight Opening Night win in the Pro 4ís while Jeff Biegley was awarded the Hobby Stock verdict after Cody Geistís car was disqualified due to a height infraction.


 For Full Rundown Please Visit Our Results Page




Mahoning Valley Farmers Market

Route 443   2522 Blakeslee Blvd. West     3 Miles West of Lehighton